

HONÖRS DAY

First-Year Student Chemistry Laboratory Award J. B. Sewall Greek Prize ‡ , €21 General Chemistry This prize is awarded to the member of the sophomore €22 who sustains the best examination in Greek. **Advanced Chemistry** J. B. Sewall Latin Prize €22 These awards are given to first-year students for outstanding This prize is awarded to the member of the sophomore of quality of laboratory work in chemistry. who sustains the best examination in Latin. Dana Walker Mayo Prize Jasper Jacob Stahl Fellowship for the Study of €19 • , , Established in honor of Professor Dana W. Mayo, this prize recognizes a senior who has demonstrated exceptional

This summer prize fellowship is given to one student annually motivation and potential for independent research facilitate the study of Greek, Latin, or the material culture in chemistry or related scientific fields. the ancient Mediterranean. CINEMA STUDIES COMPUTER SCIENCE The Rosebud Prize Computer Science Senior-Year Prize €22 €19 €22 €19 The Rosebud Prize, named for the iconic reference in the €19 1941 Orson Welles film Citizen Kane, is awarded to a senior or seniors judged by th member of the first-year class for the best esspendittee for a Computer Science to have achieved the cinema studies class. distinction in the major program in computer science. The Sunrise Prize Allen B. Tucker Computer Science Research Prize The Sunrise Prize, named for F.W. Murnau's 1927 film €21 Sunrise, is awarded to a member of the senior tises warded to a computer science student or best essay written for a cinema studies class satudents for excellence in summer research. independent study. EARTH AND OCEANOGRAPHIC SCIENCE **CLASSICS** Nathan Goold Prize Earth and Oceanographic Science Senior • •,... €19 Academic Achievement Award This prize, established by Abba Goold Woolson, of Portland, €19 in memory of her grandfather, is awarded to that we make that to a senior majoring in Earth and of the senior class who has, throughout the college roographic Science, this award recognizes outstand attained the highest standing in Greek and Latinchite with a sent in the EOS curriculum, which may include academic performance, originality and creativity of think science communication, and the ability to integrate the E

spheres and themes across EOS courses.

ECONOMICS

Paul H. Douglas Prize

€20

This prize recognizes juniors who show outstanding proin scholarship in economics. The prize is named for Pau Douglas of the Class of 1913, a respected labor econom and United States senator.

Adam Smith Book Prize

€21 Edwin Herbert Hall Prize in Physics The 100 +Prize is to be awarded at the discretion o€21 the Department of Mathematics to a first- or second number income of this fund, named in honor of Edwi student demonstrating extraordinary inspiration of the fibrill 1875, A.M. 1878, LL.D. 1905, the discoverer of the Hall effect, is awarded each year to the the pursuit of mathematics. sophomore scholar in the field of physics. **MUSIC** Noel C. Little Prize in Experimental Physics €19 Sue Winchell Burnett Music Prize This prize, named in honor of Noel C. Little '17, Sc.D. • , €19 Established by Rebecca P. Bradley in memory 67, Streft Spring physics and Josiah Little Professor of Burnett, this prize is awarded to the member of the senior who class who has majored in music and has made the most ed himself or herself in experimental physics. significant contribution to music while a student of Boundary Jr. Prize in Theoretical Physics Elliott S. Schwartz Award €19 *f* ... ‡ , "•, €19 Created in recognition of his distinguished compositional career and his fifty-year tenure as a faculty member in the Bowdoin College Department of Music, the Elliott S. Schwarz Award is given to the student who has written the most compelling musics. American Association of Physics Teachers composition during that academic year. Learning Assistant Prize NATURAL SCIENCES 19 Sumner Increase Kimball Prize This prize is given to the student or students who show a " €19 exemplary reliability, dedication to inspiring student engage This prize is awarded annually to those members of the sanity in the sanity in the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity in the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to those members of the sanity is a warded annually to class who have shown the most ability and originality in tiples ir roles as department learning assistants. of the natural sciences. **RELIGION** NEUROSCIENCE Edgar Oakes Achorn Prize Munno Neuroscience Prize €21 €19 €22 ... f '19 '22 Established by David W. Munno '99, this prize is a wade for a fund established by Edgar Oakes Acho

excellence in research by a student majoring in 82 uro sovience as a prize for the best essay written by

member of the second- or first-year classes in Religion 1

PHYSICS

100 - ¡ Prize

Lea Ruth Thumim Biblical Literature Prize

... , €20

Established by Carl Thumim in memory of his wife, Lea Ruth Thumim, this prize is awarded each year to the best scholar in biblical literature.

ROMANCE LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES

Prize for Excellence in Romance Languages and Literatures

† €19

Established by the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures, this prize is awarded to a graduating Romance languages and literatures major for outstanding achievement and promise in the study of more than one Romance language, literature, and culture.

Dorothy Haythorn Collins Award

... " €19

• €20

SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY

Award for Distinguished Public Sociology and Anthropology

• Ž €19

€19

The prize is awarded to those students majoring or minoring in sociology or anthropology who demonstrate an exemplary engagement in public scholarship and/or community service. It recognizes those who have exhibited sociological or anthropological imagination in connecting the knowledge of their major to public service and/or scholarship. It also acknowledges those students who have made meaningful impacts on the community.

Elbridge Sibley Prize

€19

This prize, established in 1989 in honor of Elbridge Sibley by Milton M. Gordon '39, a student of Professor Sibley, is awarded each year to that member of the senior class majoring in sociology or anthropology who has the highest mid-year general scholastic average in their Bowdoin class.

THEATER AND DANCE

Bowdoin Dance Group Award

• ‡ €18

An appropriate, inscribed dance memento is awarded annually to an outstanding senior for contributions of

RAISE SONGS TO BOWDOIN

•

• • •

•

• •

•

• •